Skip to content


New Zealand Radio Yachting Association

The NZRYA (New Zealand Radio Yachting Association) is an Association consisting of Member Clubs and Individual Members, which is administered by an elected Council, comprising a Chairman, a Secretary, a Treasurer and three Council Members. Formed in 1994, current individual membership stands at just over 100, with around 150 boats registered.

The NZRYA is NCA (National Class Association) for the International One Metre Class Association, and is the New Zealand DM (Division Member) of the ISAF- RSD (Radio Sailing Division). There are currently twenty nine Member Countries of the ISAF-RSD who are represented and managed by a ten member Permanent Committee

NZRYA Constitution

How to join NZRYA

To join the NZRYA, simply join one of the affiliated clubs, register a boat (either new or second hand), and then join the association as an Affiliated Individual Member. Association Membership for individuals is $10 per year, plus $ 1 for each boat registered.


Executive Officers:

Chairman                                         Paul Goddard

Secretary                                         Linton Little

Treasurer                                         Antony Sisson


Non Executive Officers:

Registrar                                          Grant Lane

Publications & Website              John McPherson

Council Member                          Bruce Edgar


Other Appointments

Auditor                                               Ken Collings, Chartered Accountant , Tauranga.

Interim Sailing Co-ordinator            Grant Lane

IOM Measuring Co-ordinator           Ian Vickers

RM Measuring Co-ordinator            Graham Bowen

Constitution Review                         Mike McLachlan

IOMICA / IRSA Representative        Mike McLachlan


Contacting NZRYA

Postal address                   NZRYA, PO Box 500, Whangaparaoa, Auckland. 0943.

Email Chairman              




Member Clubs affiliated to the NZRYA:

  • Kerikeri Radio Yacht Squadron (Kerikeri)  Tel: 09 407 9547
  • Gulf Harbour Radio Yacht Club (Whangaparaoa)  Tel: (09) 4248700 or 0274514044
  • North Shore Radio Yacht Squadron (Quarry Lake) Tel: 09 833 9183
  • Northern Maritime Model Society (Wattle Downs, Manurewa)  Tel: 09 534 1649
  • Tauranga Radio Sailing Club (Tauranga)  Tel: 07 576 6048
  • Wellington Radio Sailing Club  Tel: 04 527 8601
  • Waikato Radio Sailing Club (Hamilton) Tel: 07 856-3462
  • Christchurch Model Yacht Club Tel: tba

NZRYA Measurers

Northland Des Hendry IOM (09) 407 9474
Ron Hayes IOM (09) 955 3133
Red Beach Rob Nelson IOM (09) 428 1184
Gulf Harbour Karl Stachel IOM (09)4282110 or 0275612351
NorthShore Geoff Davies IOM (09) 443 5128
Richard Nicolas RM (09) 444 8255
Tony Oudshoorn RM (09) 475 5797
West Auckland Neville Beetson IOM RM (09) 838 7660
South Auckland Bill Bradley IOM (09) 636 6079
Auckland Steve Champion IOM (027) 555 5131
Hamilton Graham Bowen RM (07) 824 6115
Ken Foster RM (07) 853 5524
Tauranga Carl Smith IOM (0274) 371 071
David Hemsley IOM (0274) 947 605
Wellington Mike Garden IOM (04) 565 0221
Ian Hull Brown (Masterton) IOM (06) 377 5655
Noel Bradbury IOM (04) 566 4318
Christchurch Keith May IOM 03 3287014
Bruce Edgar IOM 03 9601505

Please sent updates, write-ups and photos to


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 93 other followers